Saturday, November 24, 2012

What? I can't hear you.....

A special blog post for a very special *Lacey, who is always passive, never aggressive and funny as hell!

One of the most common thing in retail is when the customer is suspect of what the sales associate says and often looks for reassurance in other sales associates.....

Exhibit A

Dory and Lacey are at side by side registers.

Dory is helping customer A

Customer A has a friend who is standing in front of Lacey

Friend says to Lacey "Do you guys give cash back on debt cards?"

Lacey replies "No, but there is a bank across the parking lot"

Friend approaches Dory

Dory rings sale and Friend swipes debit card and says "Do you guys give cash back on debt cards?"

Dory stares blankly and says "No"

Customer A and Friend leaves

Um, notice at the beginning of this scenario Dory and Lacey are standing SIDE by SIDE, Dory and Lacey are NOT deaf. Was Dory supposed to magically say "Yes! We do give cash back on debt".....Poor Dory and poor Lacey, I think they might start drinking on the job!

Silly Sally!

Well, I was hoping to have some juicy retail horror stories from Black Friday, but all I could come up with was this.....In the midst of hustle and bustle and a line a mile long a lonely woman waits with paper in hand, receipt paper that is....the line slowly creeps towards the register, sweat starting to bead on her brow. FINALLY she approaches the cashier and says "I need a price adjustment!" Seriously???? You come ALL the way to the store on a Black Friday for a price adjustment? When you hear the amount you will understand her urgency to get this done immediately. 

Woman buys coat for $26
next day woman "even exchanges" coat for bigger size but same price $26
she then adds on 2 pairs of pants
so her receipt says:
Coat ($26)
Coat $26
pants $10
pants $10
Hands cashier coupon
above mentioned coat is now only $22, nice right? cause in today's economy every bit of savings help.....

Fast forward to Black Friday....*Silly Sally wants the cashier to price adjust her coat to $26 to make it an even exchange. Cashier explains "Sally, by the looks of your receipt and because you had a coupon you actually spent LESS on the coat and saved money" Silly Sally says "I know but I wanted the coat even exchanged and would like the difference" "Um, but you saved money this way, see, the coat actually cost less" Silly Sally again says "I KNOW but I want the price adjustment back to the even exchange and I want the difference back" Now, who am I to argue because "The customer is ALWAYS right" right?!?! Well, lets break this down....Here in Indiana the price for a single gallon of gas is estimated at $3.59 A GALLON. Silly Sally here wasted more then that one gallon driving to the store, stood in a long ass black Friday line to get back FOUR DOLLARS!!! Silly Sally!

Monday, November 19, 2012

Retail shenanigans...

I would like to start with this....Consumers need to understand that in retail it isn't the sales clerk that makes the rules it is the corporation. Most of the time we have limited control over the rules. Here is a list, in no particular order of my most favorite retail shenanigans, some are from personal experience and some are not....

1. Shoplifters who return the merchandise they lifted to the same store they stole from and expect to get cash back with no receipt of payment.


2. People who come back the next day for price adjustments, without realizing that half the time the adjustment isn't even worth the gas they wasted driving all the way back to the store for.


3. People who throw a toddler sized fit because the store can't honor a 2 month old expired coupon...really!


4. People who bring ALL their piles of merchandise to the counter then make their final decisions as to what they want and what they don't.


5. Paying for their purchase and THEN giving you their coupon!


6. Leaving their purse wide open on the counter and walking away, do I look like the purse check girl??


7. Shoppers thinking that the store clerks are their own personal babysitters.


8. Thinking it is cute letting the child run behind the counter and pressing the silent alarm button.


9. Listening to parents reason with their toddlers, and then they wonder why their child is a terror.


10. Shoplifters who get mad at the sales clerk for catching them in the act of shoving merchandise down their pants.

11. Shoppers who come to the register while talking on their cell phones and giving attitude to the cashier for needing their information.


12. Shoppers getting mad at cashiers because they are making a return without a receipt and the cashier can't take their word for it as far as how much the item cost the day of purchase. 


13. Pulling on the door when the store is closed, then pulling on the door again because you know the more you pull on the door the quicker it opens. 


14. Shoppers who expect sales clerks to remember who they are and what they purchased in the past.


15. When shoppers are looking for a specific size and when asked what size, they point to their child and say "That size" (insert blank stare)


So please, I ask that you be kind to your sales clerk, they are just trying to make a living like everyone else, they don't get paid enough for the abuse they are exposed to on a sometimes daily basis. 


Can't wait to see what Black Friday brings.....

Friday, November 16, 2012

My life is a comedy...NOT!

In order to protect the identity of my co-workers and my job, I have changed their names ;)

Let me preface by saying that 1. my writing skills are nil and 2. most of you probably won't have a clue to what I am talking about, but this was a special request post....

I dedicate this post to my Muggle!

I normally don't work on Thursdays, but this Thursday was a very special occasion, my bosses bosses boss was coming to see our store, countless hours have been used to make sure his visit was absolutely perfect. Co-workers were there very late the night before. Anyway, so Thursday morning at approximately 5 AM my beloved (please note the sarcasm)  dogs barked to go out, so down the stairs I go to oblige, 5:15 AM I go back up the stairs fully prepared to crawl back under the nice warm covers and go back to sleep. My phone rings and all I could focus on was "Who the HELL is calling at this time of the morning from an 800 number no less?!?!" Well, curiosity got the better of me and I answered the phone, "Hello?" "Yes, is this Eva and do you work at *Dexter's?" "Yes, it is and yes, I do..." "Well, the back stock room alarm has been tripped, how long will it take you to get there?" "Um, 1/2 hour, I'm on my way!" Now, I don't know how many of you have experienced a full on adrenaline rush at this ungodly hour, but it isn't fun! First I started the shower and then realized I would have no time, so I brushed my teeth, threw on some clothes and ran half way down the stairs, now the Hubs is at the top when I turn around and start running back up and he says "Where are you going?" "I need my glasses! I can't see without them!" Now during all this my youngest has overflowed the toilet in her bathroom and it is a full on gush over the rim, leaking threw the kitchen ceiling and amazingly enough into the kitchen sink. I grab my car keys, run out the door and my car is iced over, I scrap the size of a watermelon hole out of the ice so that I can see and throw the car in drive. I then pull back into the drive way, run into the house because I forgot the store key! Back into the car and start driving towards work....BOY there is a lot of traffic at that time of the morning, who knew? Get to *Dexter's and don't see the cops that are supposed to be there waiting for me, I drive around the building and there they are, I let them in and they do a walk-through, all the while I am thinking that our beautiful store has been trashed! We leave and now I need to get back home to shower and go back to work. Tired, nervous jitters, just wanting to get the meeting over with....7:45 AM while in the car my phone rings again and it is the alarm company telling me that the alarm was tripped again, I tell them that I am literally 5 minutes away. Bumper to bumper traffic and some idiot almost takes out my front bumper cutting me off, "What the HELL is going on, what is with all the dam traffic?" I lean over to look ahead and all I see is a sea of blue and red lights at the main intersection. I finally get to my turn and pull into the parking lot, no officer, I drive to the back and still no officer, I go to the front and park my car. I call *Cagney to see where she is and she says she is literally on her way, so I get out of my car when I see the officer pull up to the store front. Well, now I am running in the parking lot with hot coffee in hand, in semi heels, yelling, "I'm here, I'm here!!!" Mind you my store key is on my arm, up by my elbow under my jacket. I drop everything on the ground and tell him "My key is on my arm" because with my luck he thinks I'm pulling a weapon and is ready to put a cap in my ass. I let him in and he does a walk through but everything looks good. He gets ready to leave and I ask him what is going on at the main intersection and he says "Some guy decided to drive drunk, ran the light and took out 6 other cars" So sad, but according to the news coverage no one was hurt and of course this wasn't the drunks first offense. So he leaves and *Lacey comes and now we have a quick pow wow and my adrenaline is still going and pretty much every other word out of my face is "fuck", UGH! I vent it out and now I start feeling the crash. Everyone is a bundle of nerves. So now it is me, *Cagney, *Lacey and *Erin (the bosses boss looks like Erin Strauss from Criminal Minds!) going over key points before she leaves to go pick up *Jon (as in Jon Hamm with horn rimmed glasses) The mantra of the morning was "May the odds be forever in your favor" and in walks *Erin and *Jon, very friendly, approachable gentleman. But we still don't know him or him us, so how do we act? Not like our true selves I tell you that much. My store responsibility is Presentation, so *Jon and I are standing at the front of the store when he asks me a question and I get totally tongue tied, I then turn to him and say "I just have to say that I am so nervous that I can't seem to articulate a sentence!" That gets a laugh and I literally feel a wave wash over me and my nervous have subsided, just getting that sentence out felt like a confession and now *Jon knows I am only human. By the time we make our way to the back of the store I feel like I have been listening to Charlie Browns Teacher, I don't understand a word anymore, when *Jon mentions a key word that has me pipe up like that annoying nerd in your class, and I am all like "I KNOW WHAT THAT IS, IT IS A GREAT SITE!" everyone starts laughing and then I blurt out "Hey, I finally know what your talking about" Really? Eva! I can't believe I just said that out loud to *Jon.....Look, I know my shit, but don't ask me about my shit because I can't articulate when I feel like I am being judged on my shit, know what I mean?? So in the end it was a GREAT visit, everyone was happy, high fives all around, now it is time to leave, I walk out into the parking lot and for the life of me can't remember where I parked my car.......