In order to protect the identity of my co-workers and my job, I have changed their names ;)
Let me preface by saying that 1. my writing skills are nil and 2. most of you probably won't have a clue to what I am talking about, but this was a special request post....
I dedicate this post to my Muggle!
I normally don't work on Thursdays, but this Thursday was a very special occasion, my bosses bosses boss was coming to see our store, countless hours have been used to make sure his visit was absolutely perfect. Co-workers were there very late the night before. Anyway, so Thursday morning at approximately 5 AM my beloved (please note the sarcasm) dogs barked to go out, so down the stairs I go to oblige, 5:15 AM I go back up the stairs fully prepared to crawl back under the nice warm covers and go back to sleep. My phone rings and all I could focus on was "Who the HELL is calling at this time of the morning from an 800 number no less?!?!" Well, curiosity got the better of me and I answered the phone, "Hello?" "Yes, is this Eva and do you work at *Dexter's?" "Yes, it is and yes, I do..." "Well, the back stock room alarm has been tripped, how long will it take you to get there?" "Um, 1/2 hour, I'm on my way!" Now, I don't know how many of you have experienced a full on adrenaline rush at this ungodly hour, but it isn't fun! First I started the shower and then realized I would have no time, so I brushed my teeth, threw on some clothes and ran half way down the stairs, now the Hubs is at the top when I turn around and start running back up and he says "Where are you going?" "I need my glasses! I can't see without them!" Now during all this my youngest has overflowed the toilet in her bathroom and it is a full on gush over the rim, leaking threw the kitchen ceiling and amazingly enough into the kitchen sink. I grab my car keys, run out the door and my car is iced over, I scrap the size of a watermelon hole out of the ice so that I can see and throw the car in drive. I then pull back into the drive way, run into the house because I forgot the store key! Back into the car and start driving towards work....BOY there is a lot of traffic at that time of the morning, who knew? Get to *Dexter's and don't see the cops that are supposed to be there waiting for me, I drive around the building and there they are, I let them in and they do a walk-through, all the while I am thinking that our beautiful store has been trashed! We leave and now I need to get back home to shower and go back to work. Tired, nervous jitters, just wanting to get the meeting over with....7:45 AM while in the car my phone rings again and it is the alarm company telling me that the alarm was tripped again, I tell them that I am literally 5 minutes away. Bumper to bumper traffic and some idiot almost takes out my front bumper cutting me off, "What the HELL is going on, what is with all the dam traffic?" I lean over to look ahead and all I see is a sea of blue and red lights at the main intersection. I finally get to my turn and pull into the parking lot, no officer, I drive to the back and still no officer, I go to the front and park my car. I call *Cagney to see where she is and she says she is literally on her way, so I get out of my car when I see the officer pull up to the store front. Well, now I am running in the parking lot with hot coffee in hand, in semi heels, yelling, "I'm here, I'm here!!!" Mind you my store key is on my arm, up by my elbow under my jacket. I drop everything on the ground and tell him "My key is on my arm" because with my luck he thinks I'm pulling a weapon and is ready to put a cap in my ass. I let him in and he does a walk through but everything looks good. He gets ready to leave and I ask him what is going on at the main intersection and he says "Some guy decided to drive drunk, ran the light and took out 6 other cars" So sad, but according to the news coverage no one was hurt and of course this wasn't the drunks first offense. So he leaves and *Lacey comes and now we have a quick pow wow and my adrenaline is still going and pretty much every other word out of my face is "fuck", UGH! I vent it out and now I start feeling the crash. Everyone is a bundle of nerves. So now it is me, *Cagney, *Lacey and *Erin (the bosses boss looks like Erin Strauss from Criminal Minds!) going over key points before she leaves to go pick up *Jon (as in Jon Hamm with horn rimmed glasses) The mantra of the morning was "May the odds be forever in your favor" and in walks *Erin and *Jon, very friendly, approachable gentleman. But we still don't know him or him us, so how do we act? Not like our true selves I tell you that much. My store responsibility is Presentation, so *Jon and I are standing at the front of the store when he asks me a question and I get totally tongue tied, I then turn to him and say "I just have to say that I am so nervous that I can't seem to articulate a sentence!" That gets a laugh and I literally feel a wave wash over me and my nervous have subsided, just getting that sentence out felt like a confession and now *Jon knows I am only human. By the time we make our way to the back of the store I feel like I have been listening to Charlie Browns Teacher, I don't understand a word anymore, when *Jon mentions a key word that has me pipe up like that annoying nerd in your class, and I am all like "I KNOW WHAT THAT IS, IT IS A GREAT SITE!" everyone starts laughing and then I blurt out "Hey, I finally know what your talking about" Really? Eva! I can't believe I just said that out loud to *Jon.....Look, I know my shit, but don't ask me about my shit because I can't articulate when I feel like I am being judged on my shit, know what I mean?? So in the end it was a GREAT visit, everyone was happy, high fives all around, now it is time to leave, I walk out into the parking lot and for the life of me can't remember where I parked my car.......
No comments:
Post a Comment